!Ecuador Ecuador is a country, Region - South America, Capital - Quito, Population in 2003 - 13,003,000, Population density - 46 per sq km, Surface area - 283,561 sq km, Currency - sucre. It is a republic of S. America, of Spanish origin, created in 1822; derives its name from its position on the equator; lies between Columbia and Peru; is traversed by the Andes, several of the peaks of which are actively volcanic; the population consists of Peruvian Indians, negroes, Spanish Creoles; exports cocoa, coffee, hides, and medicinal plants; the administration is vested in a president, a vice-president, ministry, a senate, and a house of deputies, elected by universal suffrage.
Contributors to this page: anypursuit and .
Page last modified on Wednesday November 12, 2014 19:16:45 GMT-0000 by anypursuit.